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References
• Part 9 of Chapter 71 for Workers’ Compensation – Subsequent 

Injury Received by Vocationally Handicapped

• 39-71-901 – 39-71-920
• Rules for Subsequent Injury Fund – Subchapter 26

• 24.29.2601 – 24.29.2614
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What is the Subsequent Injury Fund (SIF)
• The Legislature established the Subsequent Injury Fund in 1973 to 

assist persons with disabilities become employed by offering a financial 
incentive to employers who hire certified workers.

• The law defines a person with a disability as a person who has a 
medically certifiable permanent impairment which is a substantial 
obstacle to obtaining employment or ... reemployment ... considering the 
person's age, education, training, experience and employment rejection.

• Benefit to worker - Being certified means you are more likely to be hired 
because there is a limit on the employer's workers' compensation liability 
if you become injured or reinjured on the job. When the limit is reached, 
the Subsequent Injury Fund assumes liability. If you are injured on the 
job, you are entitled to all benefits due under the Workers' 
Compensation Act. Certification is not body part specific. The 
certification applies to any new injury.

• Benefit to employer - By hiring a person who has been certified by the 
department, you are hiring an experienced, skilled worker while limiting 
your workers' compensation liability. If the certified worker is injured or 
reinjured while in your employ, you will (through your insurer) be liable for 
the first 104 weeks of benefits. After 104 weeks of benefits have been 
paid, the Fund assumes all remaining liability on the claim.

• Benefit to insurer – reimbursement on claim expenses after 104 weeks.
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How it works
• Worker applies for certification with the department
• If a subsequent injury occurs, department notifies the insurer that the 

injured worker is SIF certified
• After 104 weeks of making payments, insurer contacts department to 

have claim certified
• Insurer submits reimbursement requests every six months to the 

department
• If insurer and injured worker desire settlement, they contact the 

department for concurrence
• If employer is experience rated, insurer may not base that factor on 

those claim costs reimbursed by SIF
• Paid out expenses from SIF are annually assessed to employers in 

Montana
• Self-insured – as a direct assessment
• Insured by Plan 2 or 3 – as a surcharge on their insurance bill

Page 4



Montana Statistics
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Approved SIF individuals
34 in 2017
22 in 2018
13 in 2019

In FY 2017 5,108 workers certified



Nationally
• 39 states have some sort of second injury or subsequent injury 

fund

• 26 states enacted their funds before 1955 with the remaining in 
the 60s and 70s.  Massachusetts was the last one in 1986

• 9 states no longer have their funds

• 30 are funded through assessment or surcharge, 4 are a tax on 
premiums, plus misc. other options
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Questions
• After almost 50 years, does the SIF still provide:

1. A benefit to employers in reducing their costs of workers’ 
compensation premium coverage, and 

2. Opportunities for workers with a disability to obtain jobs that 
they otherwise would not be able to secure without the SIF 
certification
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