
Workers Compensation Fraud 

Workers’ compensation fraud occurs when a person knowingly and intentionally lies or misrepresents information for personal gain.  

In most states there are criminal and civil penalties associated with fraud. Since reliable statistics on how much fraud exists are not 

available, the LMAC wishes to know how much is found and convicted in Montana and how that relates to other states where similar 

statistics are available.  The following table reports on those states that publish reported WC fraud conviction results and attempts 

to put this information in a meaningful context for comparison purposes; it also demonstrates comparative results for the Montana 

employer compliance program which represents employers running businesses without the required wc coverage.  

This comparison shows that when we standardize the percentage of convictions (a proxy for the amount of fraud deterrent 

activity in a state) as a percentage of the number of businesses or the workers covered, Montana has more convictions than other 

small states where similar data is available; and they do one third to one half of what the three largest states are able to 

accomplish, with considerable less resources (for example Florida employs about 35 fulltime detectives to combat fraud and 

California funds an entire Fraud Commission for $48,136.818 annually; and Washington employees 250 FTE’s). 

State 

*Employer 
Compliance 
Penalties 
Assessed 

Ratio of 
Compliance 
Penalties  to WC 
Premium 

*Number of  
Fraud 
Convictions 

*Ratio of Fraud 
Convictions 
 to Number of 
Establishments 
in State   

Ratio of 
Fraud 
Convictions 
to Workers 
Covered* 

Penalties for Fraud 

California $11,442,869 /$11,153,490,716 
 
=.1% 

532 /891,997 
 
 
=.06% 

/15,248,000 
 
 
=.0035% 

Punishable by imprisonment for one, two, three, or five 
years, or by a fine not exceeding fifty thousand dollars 
($50,000) or double the amount of the fraud, whichever 
is greater, or both imprisonment and fine.  

Florida 49,772,529 /3,736,915,134 
 
=1.3% 

180 /523,461 
 
 
=.034% 

/7,177,000 
 
 
=.0025% 

A violation of less than $20,000, is a felony of the third 
degree (imprisonment not exceeding 5 years); if 
$20,000 or more, but less than $100,000, a felony of the 
second degree (imprisonment not exceeding 15 years); 
if $100,000 or more, a felony of the first degree 
(imprisonment not exceeding 30 years) and/or fines 
from $5000 to $10,000 or double the loss. 

Montana 5,925,724 /342,634,599 
 
=1.7% 

5.14* /37,755 
 
 
=.014% 

/424,000 
 
 
=.0012% 

A person licensed under Title 37 can have their license 
suspended or revoked for WC fraud; the department 
may require a person convicted of theft under 45-6-
301(5) to pay an amount equal to 10 times the amount 
paid by an insurer on a false claim up to $50,000. 

Minnesota 7,498,845 /872,738,619 
=.86% 

3 /151,526 
=.002% 

/2,631,000 
=.0001% 

Imprisonment of not more than 20 years or payment of 
a fine not more than $100,000 for theft.  

New Mexico Awaiting 
figures from 
NM 

/278,502,425 3 /46,869 
 
= .006% 

/766,000 
 
=.0004% 

Depending on the amount of damages, the criminal 
penalties range from a petty misdemeanor to a fourth 
degree felony. 

New York Awaiting 
figures from 
NY 

/2,431,693,174 91 /519,489 
 
= .008% 

/8,462,000 
 
=.0011% 

Class E felony punishable by loss of right to 
compensation or payments of any benefits for workers;  
and restitution, fines and/or prison sentences 

Washington 
(Monopolistic 
Fund) 

4,660,760 /45,875,868 
 
=10% 

11 /184,542 
 
=.006% 

/2,817,000 
 
=.0004% 

Class C criminal felony; civil penalties may be the 
greater of $1000 or three times the amount of such 
excess benefits or payments plus interest. 

Wyoming Awaiting 
figures from 
WY 

/5,195,084 1 / /297,000 
=.0003% 

A misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than 
seven hundred fifty dollars($750.00), imprisonment for 
not more than six (6) months, or both, if the value of the 
payment is less than five hundred dollars ($500.00); A 
felony punishable by a fine of not more than ten 
thousand dollars ($10,000.00), imprisonment for not 
more than ten (10) years, or both, if the value of the 
payment is five hundred dollars ($500.00) or more. 

  

 These figures are for the State’s FY 2008/2009 or calendar year 2008 (These are employers found without WC coverage) 

 Direct written premium is for 2008 from NCCI 

 Number of Establishments taken from 2007 US Census data 

 Covered wages is from National Academy of Social Insurance: WC Benefits and Costs, 2008 

 Montana’s conviction figure is the result of taking the 18 convictions from 2007 thru half of 2010 and dividing it by 3.5 years to get an average per year.  

 

 

 



MONTANA FRAUD PREVENTION EFFORTS 

Prepared by ERD 10/2010 

MONTANA STATE FUND FRAUD UNIT 

 FY07 – FY09   

Investigations Opened=1,214  $13.7 million saved 

ATTORNEY GENERAL PROSECUTIONS 

 Injured Workers FY07 – August 2010 

 19 workers charged     $140,143 Reported Theft    $119,538 Restitution 

 Employer Misconduct  

 4 employers    $175,000 Reported Theft   $0 Restitution 

DEPARTMENT UNINSURED EMPLOYER’S FUND 

 FY07 – FY09   

No. of investigations=8,340 

 3,107 Penalties Assessed    $6,461,365 Collections 

DEPARTMENT INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR COMPLIANCE 

 FY07 – FY09   

No. of workplace or on-site investigations=3,150 11% Non-Compliance 

 1,207 Investigations     27% Non-compliance 

 5 Cases of Fraud  4 confessions Complied with requirements 

 1 Case of Fraud Convicted of Misdemeanor  

 


