
Who is an 
Independent 

Contractor &  
Who is not?How do I get an Independent 

Contractors Exemption 
Certificate? (ICEC)

	 ­H �Read the entire application and waiver.

	 H �Submit a completed department application 
form bearing the applicant’s original  
notarized signature in which you declare 
under penalty of perjury that the statements
contained on the form are true and accurate
to the best of your ability.

	 H �Submit documentation confirming the 
applicant is engaged in an independently 
established business.

	 H Submit a notarized waiver.

	 H Pay a fee of $125 (non-refundable).

Misusing the Certificate  
Can be Costly.

The Department will have the authority to  
investigate the working relationship between an 
independent contractor (IC) and his/her hiring 
agent. The Department may suspend or revoke 
an independent contractor exemption certificate. 

When a certificate has been suspended or 
revoked, the IC and the hiring agent will be put 
on notice that the IC’s status is no longer  
conclusively presumed. The hiring agent may 
then be responsible for workers’ compensation 
coverage on that IC if the IC continues to work 
for him/her under a suspended or revoked  
independent contractor exemption certificate.

Fines of up to $1000 per violation may be 
assessed against the hiring agent if: 
	 a) �control is exerted to the extent it creates 

an employer/employee relationship, or
	

obtain an Independent Contractor Exemption  
Certificate. When approved, this exempts an 
individual from workers’ compensation and 
unemployment insurance. A sole proprietor, 
working member of a partnership, member-
managed limited liability company or manager-
managed limited liability company (construction 
industry) may apply for the exemption. 

Corporate officers of corporations and managers 
of manager-managed limited liability companies 
(non-construction industry) may apply for the 
exemption certificate. Officers and managers 
would be exempt from workers’ compensation 
but not from unemployment  insurance.  
Please contact unemployment insurance at  
(406) 444-3834.

The exemption is valid for 2 years at a cost of 
$125 (non-refundable). Any employees hired by 
the independent contractor must be covered by
a workers’ compensation policy. 

Exemption forms are available at local Job 
Service offices, and on the website below.

For more information, contact the  
Independent Contractor Central Unit 

at (406) 444-9029. 

Montana Department of Labor & Industry
Employment Relations Division

1805 Prospect Avenue
PO Box 8011

Helena MT 59604
www.mtcontractor.com

The Montana Department of Labor & Industry has compiled this 
pamphlet as a guide only. This pamphlet does not cover all situations,
and does not replace or supersede any law, administrative rule or
regulation. For more detailed information regarding independent 
contractor laws, contact the Montana Department of Labor & Industry
Independent Contractor Central Unit 

	 b) �the hiring agent requires an employee  
to adopt IC status to avoid their  
obligations to provide workers’  
compensation coverage. 

The same fines may be assessed against an IC for:
	 a) �performing work as an IC without first 

obtaining a certificate, 

	 b) �performing work as an IC when the 
Department has revoked or denied a  
certificate,

	 c) �transferring to another person or  
allowing another person to use a  
certificate that was not issued to that  
person, or

	 d) �misrepresenting the person’s status  
as an IC.

Who Decides?
Whether one is an independent contractor or an 
employee is a complex issue. The Independent 
Contractor Central Unit (ICCU) investigates 
working relationships and determines if the 
worker(s) are ICs or employees. Wage withholding, 
unemployment insurance, workers’ compensation, 
human rights, and wage and hour issues are all 
decided using the same standards, and by one 
agency, the ICCU. Decisions made by ICCU are 
binding upon other agencies, so an employer  
will receive one decision from the state in a 
timely manner.

Independent Contractor 
Exemptions.

Owners of a business that consider themselves 
independent contractors MUST have workers’ 
compensation coverage on themselves or  
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A Misused Category.
Individuals who sign independent contractor 
agreements or who hold exemptions may not be 
ICs in fact. The issuance of 1099s and lack of 
withholding taxes does not make an individual  
an independent contractor. 

Contract labor agreements do not establish 	
contractor status. By law, a worker cannot sign 
away their rights to workers’ compensation or 
unemployment insurance coverage. The worker 
must meet the independent contractor criteria. 

Workers hired on a temporary or part-time basis 
are considered employees unless they meet the 
independent contractor guidelines. 

Persons who hold exemption certificates are  
presumed to be an independent contractor, but 
an IC status can be destroyed by control.  

The Montana Supreme Court has stated the  
following four factors are indicators of control in 
a working relationship.  

	 1. �Evidence of control including the  
right to control.

	 2. The furnishing of equipment.

	 3. The method of payment.

	 4. The right to fire without liability.

The consideration given to each of these  
factors is not a balancing process. A worker may 
be an employee simply by the strength of one of 
the four factors, while all need to be met to be 
an independent contractor.

Here are Some Common  
Things to Think about when  

Determining Control:
	 H �Payment is on a time basis rather than  

on a bid or project completion basis.

	 H �The pay is determined by the hiring agent, 
as opposed to the worker submitting a bid 
establishing the cost for the project.

	 H �The hiring agent provides substantial tools 
and equipment necessary to perform the 
job functions as opposed to the worker 
providing their own tools and equipment. 
The hiring agent instructs what tools to 
use and how to use them.

	 H �The hiring agent oversees how the work  
is performed as opposed to the worker  
completing the project in the manner  
and means they see appropriate.

	

I N D E P E N D E N T  C O N T R A C T O R S   
	 H �The hiring agent explains, shows, and/or 

trains the worker how to perform the work. 
If you receive extensive instructions as 
how work is to be done, this suggests an 
employee relationship.

	 H �The hiring agent can release the worker 
from the job without notice or the  
opportunity to fix the problem. When the 
working relationship can be terminated 
without liability, the hiring agent has  
the control.

	 H �When there is no opportunity for profit or 
loss for the worker, they do not have  
control.

	 H �The hiring agent requires the worker to log 
the time worked on the job is an indication 
they have control.

The Employer’s Responsibility.
Employers are obligated to ensure the workers they hire as ICs truly are ICs. Obtain 

proof of their insurances. They must make sure their relationship with the IC is to 

achieve an end result as opposed to directing and controlling the way the work is 

done. A way to destroy a good hiring agent/IC relationship and turn it into an  

employer/employee relationship is for the hiring agent to exert or have the right to 

exert control over the worker. 

The Department Recommends the 
Following when Hiring an IC:

	 H �Have a written contract containing who, 
what, when, where and how.

	 H �Hire for a defined project with a beginning 
and ending date.

	 H �Hire those who are experts at their work.

	 H �Do not train or provide essential 
equipment or materials for the project.

	 H �Do not pay on a time basis; for example  
by the hour.

	 H �Ask for proof of General Liability Insurance.

	 H �Ask for proof of ICEC and verify it is in 
good standing by looking on the web at  
www.mtcontractor.com or calling  
(406) 444-9029.

	 H �Obtain references and follow them up. 

	 H �Choose to hire only those who carry  
workers’ compensation insurance on  
themselves.  

4 Free from control or direction.
4 �Engaged in their own independently 	

established business, occupation,  
trade or profession. 

4 �Hold an Independent Contractor 
Exemption Certificate (ICEC).

To be an Independent  
Contractor (IC) in Montana, 

a Worker Must be:




