Board of Personnel Appeals

The Board of Personnel Appeals is a five member quasi-judicial board charged with providing appellate level review for matters involving the Collective Bargaining Act for Public Employees. The Board also serves as the appellate board for grievances involving Fish, Wildlife and Parks and Department of Transportation employees as well as wage and classification appeals by employees of the State of Montana.

Members of the Board are appointed by the Governor. By statute Board membership is comprised of an equal number of management and labor representatives, a presiding officer with knowledge in the field of labor relations, and alternate members representing management and labor.

Parties should not contact Board members directly regarding pending cases before the Board. Current members are:

Anne MacIntyre, Presiding Officer
2900 Spokane Creek Rd
East Helena MT 59635
Rina Fontana Moore, Management Board Member
Cascade County
200 13th St N
Great Falls MT 59401
788-1720 (office)
Steve Johnson, Management Board Member
City of Missoula
435 Ryman
Missoula MT 59802
552-6130 (office)
Quinton Nyman, Labor Board Member
Montana Public Employees Association
PO Box 5600
Helena MT 59604
442-4600 (office)
Jim Soumas, Labor Board Member
Teamsters Union Local 190
PO Box 50969
Billings, MT  59105
248-2658 (office)


Dave Severson - Alternate Labor Board Member
2417 42nd Street
Missoula, MT 59803
721-2928 (office)
540-3232 (mobile)

Amy Verlanic - Alternate Management Board Member
600 W 4th
Anaconda MT 59711
496-4289 (office)

LeRoy Schramm, Alternate Chair
1900 Dry Gulch Drive
Helena MT  59601
443-5033 (office)

Related Links

Title 39 (Arbitration for Firefighters)

Title 39 (Arbitration for Police Officers)

Title 39 Collective Bargaining for Nurses

Title 39 Collective Bargaining for Public Employees

BOPA Administrative Rules

BOPA Administrative Rules - Nurses

Contact Information

Board of Personnel Appeals
1805 Prospect Avenue
PO Box 201503
Helena, MT
(406) 444-0032
(406) 444-7071 -- fax number