Department of Labor and Industry

Mine Safety and Health

Mine Safety and Health

Mine Training Calendar

The Montana Safety and Health Bureau offers mine safety training.  The fees are listed below:

  • $10/person - Refresher Class
  • $20/person - New Miner

Please bring a check for the exact amount made out to MT Dept. of Labor & Industry.

You must click on the training session you would like to attend on the calender and notify the instructor that you want to register for that class!

Consultation Services

Consultation services are available for any type of mine in Montana.

Mine Training

The Safety Bureau will provide the following services at the employer's request:

  • Annual refresher and new miner training for mines, miners and related contractors.
  • Training is provided for all types of mining operations including surface, underground, metal-nonmetal, and coal operations by certified MSHA instructors.
  • Underground and surface coal mine foreman classes, examinations and certifications.
  • First aid training for miners, as required by the MSHA training plan.· Training topics include artificial respiration, controlling bleeding, burns and musculoskeletal injuries.

If you would like to request mine training Click Here.

Inspections

The Safety Bureau, under Montana Public Law 50-73-101 MCA (The Montana Coal Mine Safety Act), is responsible for workplace safety and health compliance in coal mines and sand and gravel operations.

How we can help:

  • Assist mine operators in mine safety training plan development
  • Partner with contractors to ensure Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA) Compliance
  • Work with multiple county, state and federal agencies to assist in accident investigations and safety

Contact Information

The Montana Safety and Health Bureau
(406) 444-6401