Mine Safety and Health

Mine Training

The Montana Safety and Health Bureau Mine Section provides scheduled mine safety training only. Please see the MINE TRAINING CALENDAR for specific training classes.

To register for classes, you must click on the class (on the calendar) that you wish to attend, and to complete the registration process you must notify the instructor listed (contact information is included with the class information on the calendar).

Fees are charged to cover the cost of materials and meeting facilities for the following classes:

  • Refresher Class - $10/person
  • New Miner Class - $20/person

Please bring a check for the exact amount made out to MT Dept. of Labor & Industry.

The Mine Section will provide the following scheduled training by certified MSHA instructors:

  • Annual refresher and new miner training for surface, underground, metal-nonmetal, and coal operations
  • Underground and surface coal mine foreman classes, examinations and certifications
  • First aid training for miners, as required by the MSHA training plan
  • Medic First Aid Plus (CPR & AED) training is also an option. Books need to be purchased in advance from Medic First Aid International online or call 800-800-7099. Please use the following ID: DLI 596.

Part 46 Training

Part 46 training will no longer be provided by the Mine Section due to reductions in funding and the need to concentrate our resources on training that requires MSHA certified instructors.

Part 46 training was designed to be done by the operator. For assistance implementing your own Part 46 training see the list of resources below:

  • From MSHA - details on how to set up your own Part 46 training:  msha.gov/TRAINING/PART46/PT46TRAIN.HTM
  • Check our Mine Training Calendar for classes on how to set up your own Part 46 training
  • A limited number of Part 46 classes will be held at SafetyFest: check the website for upcoming trainings:  SafetyFestMT.com

Inspections

The Montana Safety and Health Bureau Mine Section, under Montana Public Law 50-73-101 MCA (The Montana Coal Mine Safety Act), is responsible for workplace safety and health compliance in coal mines and sand and gravel operations.

How we can help:

  • Assist mine operators in mine safety training plan development
  • Partner with contractors to ensure Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA) Compliance
  • Work with multiple county, state and federal agencies to assist in accident investigations and safety

Consultations

Available for any type of mine in Montana.

Contact Information

The Montana Safety and Health Bureau, Mine Section
(406) 444-6401

Thursday, June 19, 2014

Related Links

 

 

Mine Safety Traininghttp://erd.dli.mt.gov/safety-health/mine-safety/mine-safety-trainingMine Safety Traininghttp://erd.dli.mt.gov/safety-health/mine-safety/mine-safety, Mine Safety Training

 
6
mine-safety
Mine Safety
Employers, Workers