Renewal Certification and Continuing Education Course Submissions
Workers' Compensation Claims Examiner Certification
Certification will be renewed upon:
(a) completion of the renewal form at any time during the certification period, but no later than the expiration of the certification renewal date;
(b) verification of completion of 24 hours of approved continuing education courses during the current certification period, to include at least:
-four hours of training on workers’ compensation statues, administrative rules, and case law since the last certification; and one hour of training on appropriate and ethical communication; and other approved continuing education courses which may include but are not limited to mediation/negotiation; medical terminology; human anatomy; interpreting medical records; injured worker’s rights and responsibilities; insurers’ rights and responsibilities; prevention of injuries; stay-at-work/return-to-work training; and medical fee schedule reimbursements.
The Department will also accept workers’ compensation continuing education courses approved by the Office of Public Instruction, the State Bar of Montana or the Montana Insurance Commissioner for the adjuster license requirements which meets the course criteria specified in the rule (834) toward the 24 hours of approved courses required for the claims examiner certification renewal.
No more than six hours of approved continuing education courses may be carried over to the next certification period.
The certification renewal fee is $75 (non-refundable) per applicant payable at the time of renewal. If there is a 12-month lapse in certification, the fee for renewal will be $100 (non-refundable) payable at the time of the application.
This website allows you to print off all forms and pay electronically or by mail.
For questions please contact Julia Crane, Manager 444-6649 or email Julia.
Thursday, June 19, 2014