List of Self-Insureds

As of November 1, 2016, there were twenty-three individual self-insured employers, three private groups with 113 member employers and five public groups with 414 member employers.  The listing below represents a complete listing of the currently authorized self-insureds in Montana as of November 1, 2016.  Please note that §2-6-109, MCA (Montana Code Annotated), prohibits the use of this information for a mailing list without our agency first securing permission of those entities on the list.


Individual Self-Insureds

Albertsons Companies, LLC.

Ash Grove Cement Company

Benefis Health System Inc.

CHS Inc.

Costco Wholesale Corporation

F.H. Stoltze Land & Lumber Company

Federal Express Corporation

FedEx Ground Package System Inc.

Harnish Group Inc.

J H Kelly LLC


Les Schwab Tire Centers of Montana Inc.

Northwest Healthcare Corporation

NorthWestern Corporation

Old Dominion Freight Line Inc.

Rosauers Supermarkets Inc.

Roseburg Forest Products Company

Ryder Systems Inc.

Sisters of Charity of Leavenworth Health System

Providence Health & Services

Stillwater Mining Company

Target Corporation

Weyerhaeuser NR Company


Private Self-Insured Groups

Montana Contractor Compensation Fund

Montana Electric & Telephone Pool

Montana Health Network Workers' Compensation Insurance Trust


Public Self-Insured Groups

Missoula County Workers' Compensation Group Insurance Authority

Montana Association of Counties Workers' Compensation Trust

Montana Municipal Interlocal Authority

Montana Schools Group Insurance Authority

MUS Self-Funded Workers' Compensation Program


Contact Information

Program Manager for Self-Insurance
Adrianne McLean
(406) 444-1555