The Data Management Unit ensures compliance with claims reporting standards, maintains the workers’ compensation database system and completes a comprehensive annual report on workers’ compensation for the Governor and the legislature. In addition, the unit performs research on the workers’ compensation system and related topics.
All insurers are to file a complete report of every injury or occupational disease to the department, either on a paper claim form or by electronic means within specified timelines. Electronic reporting is required if an insurer or third party administrator submits more than 50 injuries in the preceding calendar year. Please contact David Elenbaas at firstname.lastname@example.org or 406-444-6527 for questions on claim reporting.
Please click here to find forms for proper reporting of injuries.
Please click here to go to the Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) information page.
Montana statute requires insurers to notify the Department of Labor & Industry of any changes of third party administrators with respect to the handling of Montana workers’ compensation claims. The insurer must notify the department in writing 14 days in advance of when the account is transferred. Penalties, not to exceed $200 per instance, may be assessed for failure to report changes.
Please click here to find forms for proper reporting of changes.
The Electronic Prior Claims (EPC) system allows an insurer, an insurer’s designated agent, an attorney, a medical provider or an authorized state employee to obtain current or prior claim information. The EPC system provides timeliness in obtaining the necessary information and the convenience of looking up the information directly from your computer.
Please click here to go to the Electronic Prior Claims (EPC) page.