Department of Labor and Industry

Work Comp Surcharge Rates

Work Comp Surcharge Rates

Workers' Compensation Surcharge Rates

Info for: All Plan 2 carriers (Montana Work Comp Insurance carriers)
Plan 3 - Montana State Fund

Rates Effective as of
Administrative
Fund Premium
Surcharge Rate
(MCA 39-71-201)
Subsequent Injury
Fund Premium
Surcharge Rate
(MCA 39-71-915)
SAWRTW Surcharge
7/01/2013 0.019328 0.003427 0.000000
7/01/2012 0.018901 0.000512 0.000000
7/01/2011
0.020775
0.001248
0.000820
7/01/2010
0.019177
0.002840
7/01/2009
0.015281
0.001734
7/01/2008
0.011836
0.001240
7/01/2007
0.012670
0.001130
7/01/2006
0.016092
0.000000
7/01/2005
0.010466
0.000000
7/01/2004
0.011638
0.001355
7/01/2003
0.020019
0.000297
7/01/2002
0.023642
0.000127
7/01/2001
0.026126
0.000000

The surcharge rates will change for each subsequent fiscal year. Rates will be calculated each April and will be effective on July 1. 

Each insurer providing workers' compensation insurance shall collect from its policyholders the surcharge amount at the same time and in the same manner that the premium for the coverage is collected. The premium surcharge should be billed on "Earned Premium."  Terrorism premium is included in the amount collected. The surcharge amount must be stated as a separate cost on an insured employer's policy or on a separate document submitted to the insured employer.

The administration fund premium surcharge must be identified as the "workers' compensation regulatory assessment surcharge".  The subsequent injury fund premium surcharge must be identified as the "workers' compensation subsequent injury fund surcharge". Each insurer shall maintain reasonable records showing the total amount of premium surcharge billed to its policyholders and the total amount of premium surcharge actually collected. The premium surcharge must be excluded from the definition of premiums for all purposes.

Each insurer shall collect the premium surcharge levied against every employer that it insures. Each insurer shall pay to the department all money collected as a premium surcharge within 20 days of the end of the calendar quarter in which the money was collected. If an insurer fails to timely pay to the department the premium surcharge collected, the department may impose on the insurer an administrative fine of $500 (for administration fund) and $100 (for subsequent injury fund) plus interest on the delinquent amount at the annual interest rate of 12%. The remittal form has been revised and will be mailed under separate cover.

Negative Premium

If the insurer has negative premium please make internal adjustments and carry the credit forward on future reports.  Report -0- on the surcharge remittal form.  

Surcharge Remittal Forms

Please use the new Surcharge Remittal form, previously mailed to you, or use the generic form on this website. Please keep the original form and make photocopies for remittal purposes.   If you use the generic form, please be sure to use the Montana Department of Labor & Industry carrier (DLI#) number, (not NCCI number, not NAIC number).  We will NOT be sending this form out quarterly.

Contact Information

Workers' Compensation Regulation Bureau
Employment Relations Division
PO Box 8011
Helena, MT 59604-8011

Erin Weisgerber
(406) 444-1555
EWeisgerber@mt.gov