
Montana Workers’ Compensation  
Quarterly Expenditure Report (QER) 
General Instructions & Information 

 
 
The purpose of the expenditure report is to gather the workers’ compensation costs that are paid to claimants 
and/or on behalf of the claimants during the quarter.  The costs are broken down into three categories: (1) 
compensation benefits paid, (2) medical benefits paid, and (3) miscellaneous benefits paid.  Every insurer is 
required to file the expenditure report with the department (MCA 39-71-306).  The reported amounts are gross 
paid amounts and may not be less than zero. 
 
The Insurer # is the number assigned to the insurer by the Department of Labor & Industry (DLI).  This is not 
your NAIC number.  This is not your NCCI number. 
 
Reproduce the expenditure report as needed.  The format may not be altered.  Submit separate reports for each 
insurer.  A report must be submitted if there are $0 expenditures.  Reports must be received within 15 days of 
the end of the quarter.  (Quarters end September 30, December 31, March 31 and June 30.)  Penalties up to 
$1000 may be assessed for late reports (MCA 39-71-306(2)).  Reports may be sent to the department by either 
regular mail, by facsimile, or by email. 
 
Compensation includes all indemnity payments made for the quarter, including indemnity benefits paid under a 
rehabilitation plan. 
 
Medical includes all hospital, medical, surgical, physical therapy, etc. made for the quarter, including any 
amounts reimbursable to the insurer under deductible policies. 
 
Miscellaneous may not include any indemnity or medical benefits.  Miscellaneous may include attorney fees, 
rehabilitation services, rehabilitation expenses such as books and tuition, auxiliary rehabilitation, independent 
medical examinations requested by the insurer, burial expenses, travel expenses, or various other miscellaneous 
costs paid to or on behalf of the claimant that do not constitute a compensation or medical benefit.  Reporting 
amounts under Miscellaneous is required. 
 
Medical in excess of $200,000 per claim is excluded from the annual assessment.  Report excess payments 
over cumulative threshold amount of  $200,000 per claim paid in this quarter.  Example: Payments per one 
claim 1st quarter is $250,000, 2nd quarter $25,000.  1st quarter report medical $250,000, medical in excess 
$50,000.  2nd quarter report medical $25,000, medical in excess $25,000. 
 
Annual Reconciliation 
There is a need to mention the importance of the QER, the QER annual reconciliation, the department 
assessment, and our process.  There are over 350 insurance carriers and/or self-insured employers reporting to 
the department.  Once all insurance carriers and/or self-insured employers have completed the yearly filings of 
the QER, we send all carriers and/or self-insured employers a “Montana Annual Workers’ Compensation 
Expenditure Reconciliation Worksheet”, usually in early February of each year.  The Annual Reconciliation 
lists the insurance carrier and/or self-insured employer reporting activity for the year listing indemnity, medical, 
and other payments in summary form from their respective reporting office(s).  Any discrepancies should be 



reconciled at this time.  The Annual Reconciliation is due back in our office March 1st each year.  The signed 
and returned Annual Reconciliation of expenditures for the previous year is considered final for assessment 
purposes.  The department’s assessment and surcharge calculations are based on this information, and the 
surcharge rates for the insurance carriers must be published by April 30th of each year. As you can see, the 
window of time is very short and it is critical that we have information at a specific point in time.   
 
Negative Numbers Not Accepted  
The reported amounts are gross paid amounts and may not be less than zero. 
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