

MONTANA'S MINIMUM WAGE

(Effective 1/1/2025)

\$10.55*

*The minimum wage is subject to a cost-of-living adjustment based on the Consumer Price Index no later than September 30th of each year. Montana's minimum wage is to be the greater of the federal or current state minimum wage.

Exception: A business not covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act whose gross annual sales are \$110,000 or less may pay \$4.00 per hour. <u>However</u>, if an individual employee is producing or moving goods between states or otherwise covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act, that employee must be paid the greater of either the federal minimum wage or Montana's minimum wage.

NO TIP CREDIT, TRAINING WAGE OR MEAL CREDIT IS ALLOWED IN THE STATE OF MONTANA

OVERTIME PAY

Employees who work in excess of 40 hours in a workweek must receive overtime compensation at a rate of at least $1\frac{1}{2}$ times their regular hourly rate for those hours worked over 40. There are exclusions from overtime pay. This information can be obtained by calling our office at (406) 444-6543.

PAYMENT OF WAGES

WHILE STILL EMPLOYED: An employee must be paid within 10 business days after the end of the pay period.

WHEN SEPARATED FROM EMPLOYMENT: When an employee quits, wages are due on the next scheduled pay day for the period in which the employee was separated, or 15 calendar days, whichever occurs first.

TERMINATED FOR CAUSE: When an employee is laid off or discharged, all wages are due immediately (within four hours or end of the business day, whichever occurs first), unless the employer has a preexisting, written policy that extends the time for payment. The wages cannot be delayed beyond the next pay day for the period in which the separation occurred, or 15 calendar days, whichever occurs first.

FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION PLEASE CONTACT:

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR & INDUSTRY
PO BOX 201503
HELENA MT 59620-1503
PHONE (406) 444-6543

EMAIL: <u>DLIERDWage@mt.gov</u>

Please visit us on the web at: www.mtwagehourbopa.com