
 

  

September 23, 2025 
 
Notice to Montana Employers and Interested Parties 
 
Pursuant to §39-3-409 MCA, Montana’s Minimum Wage will increase to $10.85 per hour 
effective January 1, 2026.  
 
Montana statute requires the minimum wage be adjusted annually based on changes in 
inflation as measured by the Consumer Price Index all Urban Consumers (CPI-U) from August of 
the year in which the calculation is made and is rounded to the nearest $0.05.  The Department 
is required to make this adjustment by September 30 of each year.  
 
Minimum Wage Calculation for 2026. 
 

2026 Minimum Wage Calculation 

Current Minimum Wage $10.55  
Increase in the CPI over prior year 2.92% 
Inflation Adjustment $0.31  
Subtotal $10.86 
    
Round to the Nearest $0.05 $10.85  

 
 
If you have questions regarding this increase, please contact the Employment Standards 
Division at (406) 444-6543. 
 
Sincerely, 
 

 
 
Sarah Swanson, Commissioner     
Department of Labor and Industry 
 


