Human Rights Commission Members

Current Members


TIMOTHY TATARKA, Billings - Tim is an Assistant United States Attorney for the District of Montana, where he is responsible for coordinating the district's criminal and civil appeals before the Ninth Circuit as well as representing the United States in both criminal and civil cases in district court.  Before joining the US Attorney's office, he worked as a senior associate in the Palo Alto office of WilmerHale, specializing in intellectual property litigation, and as a judicial law clerk for the Honorable Jeremy Fogel of the Northern District of California.  Prior to law school, Tim worked for the Montana Department of Justice, Montana Office of Public Instruction, and for United States Senators Jon Tester and Max Baucus.  Tim graduated from Stanford Law School, where he was managing editor of the Stanford Law Review, and earned a degree in political science from Johns Hopkins University.  He grew up on a dairy farm outside of Bozeman. (Appointed May 2018) Email Tim at   


MIKE (MICHAEL A.) MURRAY, Helena - Mike is a retired Lewis and Clark Commissioner (24 years) and a past City of Helena Commissioner.  He is also a past administrator of the Montana Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division responsible for establishing the county by county outpatient network and limited residential treatment network for Montana. Mike served as Executive Director of The Rocky Mountain Development Council bringing several senior citizen programs and Head Start to the Helena area.  Mike is in partnership with his spouse, Helen, and has owned several businesses: Action Print, Al's Poultry Farm and Helena Time and Temperature. Mike graduated from Carroll College, married Helen and has three grown children and three grandchildren.  He is an Army Reserve veteran. (Appointed April 2017) Email Mike at

STEPHANIE BAUCUS, Billings - Stephanie is an attorney with Moulton Bellingham PC, where she focuses on litigation, corporate matters, white collar criminal defense, internal investigations, compliance planning, government relations, public affairs, corporate social responsibility, and nonprofit administration.  Before joining Moulton, she worked as General Counsel and Vice President of a consulting firm for seven years, and before that, as an Associate Director at the U.S. Department of Justice in Washington, DC.  She started her career in private practice, where she represented clients in various types of civil and criminal matters and pro bono cases.  In addition to serving on the Commission, she is currently the Secretary and a member of the Board of Directors of the Billings YWCA, Co-Chair and Co-Founder of the Yellowstone County Area Human Trafficking Task Force, and a member of the Junior League of Billings.  She also served as the President of the Board of Directors for the Holter Museum of Art and as the Co-Chair of the Helena 150th Anniversary Gala and school contest events when she and her family lived in Helena.  Stephanie graduated from Harvard Law School and earned her B.A., summa cum laude, from Emory University with majors in Political Science and Religious Studies.  She was born on Lackland Air Force Base in San Antonio, Texas to two U.S. Air Force Officer parents.  She lives with her husband Zeno and their two young daughters in Billings. (Appointed May 2018) Email Stephanie at

ANN BRODSKY, Helena - Ann is a retired attorney, who served as Governor Schweitzer’s Chief Legal Counsel from 2005-12 and defended the State of Montana in tort (personal injury) litigation for close to 20 years.  She worked in private practice for short periods, both for an environmental law firm that contracted with the State to handle Superfund litigation, and on her own.  Ann’s interest in human rights goes back to her earliest memories.  Her father was a Russian Jew who grew up in Berlin and emigrated to America in 1939, a family history deeply ingrained in her.  In high school, Ann served as an intern for her state’s (N.J.’s) human rights agency.   She obtained a B.A. in American Studies from Middlebury College, and wrote her senior thesis on the suffrage movement in America.  In 1977, Ann moved to Montana to serve as a VISTA volunteer for the then-Human Rights Division, investigating discrimination cases, and later supervising the Division’s investigators.  She was employed as a researcher for the Montana Legislature for five years and staffed the House Labor Committee, where human rights issues were heard.  She lobbied for the Women’s Lobbyist Fund (later the Montana Women’s Lobby) during the 1985 legislature, before attending the University of Montana law school, graduating in 1988. (Appointed May 2019) Email Ann at