Federal Minimum Wage

$7.25 (Effective 7/24/2009)

Companies automatically covered by the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA)

  • Any enterprise engaged in interstate commerce or the production of goods through such commerce
  • Private hospitals
  • Private schools
  • Preschools and day care centers
  • Fraternal organizations
  • Sheltered workshops
  • Federal employees
  • State/Public sector employees and employees of the political subdivisions
  • Domestic service workers such as maids, chauffeurs, cooks, or full-time baby-sitters
  • Retail and service establishments whose gross annual sales exceeds $500,000

Any employee individually engaged in interstate commerce

  • Communication and transportation workers
  • Employees who handle, ship or receive goods moving in interstate commerce
  • Clerical or other workers who regularly use the mail or telephone for interstate communication or who keep records on interstate transactions
  • Employees​ who regularly cross state lines in the course of their work
  • Employees of independent employers who perform clerical, custodial, maintenance or other work for firms engaged in commerce or the production of goods for commerce