Home Inspector Registration

As of January 01, 2020, Home Inspectors in Montana are required to register with the Department of Labor and Industry (SB 269). 

Click here to view a list of Registered Home Inspectors. This list is updated biweekly.  

Becoming a Registered Home Inspector

A Home Inspector, whether as an individual, partnership, corporation, or manager-managed or member-managed limited liability company, shall register with the Department by completing an application, paying the $80 application fee, and shall document that each person working under the registration as a home inspector:

  • Has successfully completed 40 hours of comprehensive home inspection instruction or has passed a Department approved national examination.
  • Is a member of a national home inspector association.
  • Is covered by a minimum of $100,000 general commercial liability insurance, and a minimum of $100,000 errors and omissions insurance.
  • Is covered under a workers’ compensation policy or has an independent contractor exemption certificate (ICEC) for the occupation of home inspection.

Upon renewing an existing registration, a home inspector must document that each home inspector covered by the registration:

  • Has completed 40 hours of continuing education over the prior 2 years.
  • Is a member of a national home inspector association.
  • Is covered by a minimum of $100,000 general commercial liability insurance, and a minimum of $100,000 errors and omissions insurance.
  • Is covered under a workers’ compensation policy or has an independent contractor exemption certificate (ICEC) for the occupation of home inspector or home inspection.

Frequently Asked Questions

Administrative Rules of Montana

The administrative rules of Montana provide more information on program requirements and can be found at Contractor Registration Rules of Montana 24.33.101 - 24.33.151

Montana Code Annotated

The statutes governing Home Inspector Registration can be found at Contractor Registration Laws 39.9.101 - 39.9.401

Approved National Examinations

National Examinations must be proven psychometrically valid in order to be approved by the Department.  Exam providers seeking to have an exam approved by the Department may submit this questionnaire.  The Department will consider each request and approve or deny within 60 days.

The following is a list of approved examinations: 

Approved National Home Inspector Associations

The Department will recognize any National Home Inspector Association, including but not limited to the following:

American Society of Home Inspectors (ASHI)
International Association of Certified Home Inspectors (InterNACHI)
North American Association of Home Inspectors (NAAHI)

Don’t see your association listed here? If you wish to have your association displayed on our website – please contact us at HIregistration@mt.gov

Approved Comprehensive Home Inspection Instruction Courses

Any organization wishing to be approved by the Department for the purposes of offering a comprehensive education program for home inspectors must apply to the Department for recognition.  In order to be approved by the Department, the course must meet the following criteria:

  • Minimum of 40 hours of instruction
  • Assessment upon completion to demonstrate whether the individual passed or failed
  • Include the following topics:
Roofing Electric
Exterior Heating and Cooling (HVAC)
Interior Insulation
Structural Fireplace and Chimney
Plumbing Ethical Business Practices, Professional Standards, and Reports
   

 The following is a list of approved courses: 

Don't see your course here? If you offer a course you wish to have displayed on our website, you may submit this course approval request

Approved Continuing Education Courses

The Department will automatically recognize continuing education courses that are:

For courses that do not meet one of the above criteria, the sponsoring organization may submit this course approval request. Requests for approval must be received by the Department no less than 30 days prior to the anticipated start date of the course.

Registration Section | Contact Information

Phone: (406) 444-7734 Section Manager - Tracy Gonzalez: (406) 444-9585

Mailing Address:

Registration Section
PO Box 8011
Helena, MT 59604

Physical Location (for overnight mailing with FED-EX or UPS and walk-in customers, same day processing not guaranteed):

Registration Section
1805 Prospect Ave (2nd floor east side)
Helena, MT 59601

Back To Top