The Montana Safety and Health Bureau Mine Section provides scheduled mine safety training only.
To register for classes, you must click on the class that you wish to attend, and to complete the registration process you must notify the instructor listed (contact information is included with the class registration form).
New Miner Training
20-Hour MSHA Surface New Miner Training - Anaconda July 18, 2017
20-Hour MSHA Surface New Miner Training - Missoula September 12, 2017
20-Hour MSHA Surface New Miner Training - Billings September 19, 2017
20-Hour MSHA Surface New Miner Training - Kalispell October 16, 2017
20-Hour MSHA Surface New Miner Training - Helena December 5, 2017
20-Hour MSHA Surface New Miner Training - Billings December 19, 2017
32-Hour MSHA Underground New Miner Training - Billings August 1, 2017
32-Hour MSHA Underground New Miner Training - Billings October 31, 2017
Annual Refresher Training
8-Hour MSHA Annual Surface Refresher - Helena August 8, 2017
8-Hour MSHA Annual Surface Refresher - Kalispell August 29, 2017
8-Hour MSHA Annual Surface Refresher - Billings September 7, 2017
8-Hour MSHA Annual Surface Refresher - Butte September 27, 2017
8-Hour MSHA Annual Surface Refresher - Kalispell November 9, 2017
8-Hour MSHA Annual Surface Refresher - Missoula November 14, 2017
8-Hour MSHA Annual Surface Refresher - Bozeman November 29, 2017
8-Hour MSHA Annual Surface Refresher - December 5, 2017
8-Hour MSHA Annual Surface Refresher - December 20, 2017
8-Hour MSHA Annual Underground Refresher - Billings October 12, 2017
8-Hour MSHA Annual Underground Refresher - Billings December 6, 2017
Fees are charged to cover the cost of materials and meeting facilities for the following classes:
The Mine Section will provide the following scheduled training by certified MSHA instructors:
- Annual refresher and new miner training for surface, underground, metal-nonmetal, and coal operations
- First aid training for miners, as required by the MSHA training plan will be performed at SafetyFests held throughout the state.
Click on the following link to see DLI's Part 48 A & Part 48 B Training Plan.
Part 48 Instructor Training Course
At this time the Department of Labor & Industry has suspended Part 48 Instructor Training. We apologize for the inconvenience.
The Montana Department of Labor and Industry's Safety and Health Bureau offers instructor classes to individuals seeking to becoming a certified MSHA instructor. This course is an important step in becoming an effective mine trainer and is designed to do just that. Taught by a MSHA designated instructor, the class meets the requirements of 30 CFR 48.3 h1.
All prospective instructors must be pre-approved by the MSHA District Manager. Listed below is the contact info for your district Manager:
For more information regarding Part 48 Instructor Training please contact the Rocky Mountain District.
Please be aware of the following:
- There is no official published application form. You may find it beneficial to send a resume; miner records including 5023s, and any other items that demonstrate your competency with your petition to become a trainer.
- There are no official prerequisites to become a MSHA trainer. It is the Department's understanding that petitioners need a minimum of 2 years surface or 3 years underground Part 48 experience in order to become a trainer. However each approval is on a case by case basis.
- You will need comprehensive knowledge of CFR part 30, in particular knowledge of training plans and records.
- You may be given an impromptu phone evaluation by the MSHA district office. You may be asked several questions over any part of CFR 30. Incomplete responses may prevent you from becoming an instructor.
- You may apply for limited instructor approval. This would allow you to teach a specific topic such as introduction to the environment. We recommend that you indicate clearly at the beginning of your petition what specific topics you are requesting to teach.
The following information from the MSHA standards may help in understanding the process: 30 CFR 48.3
(h) Instructors shall be approved by the District Manager in one or more of the following ways:
- Instructors shall take an instructor's training course conducted by the District Manager or given by persons designated by the District Manager to give such instruction; and instructors shall have satisfactorily completed a program of instruction approved by the Office of Educational Policy and Development, MSHA, in the subject matter to be taught.
- Instructors may be designated by MSHA as approved instructors to teach specific courses based on written evidence of the instructor's qualifications and teaching experience.
- At the discretion of the District Manager, instructors may be designated by MSHA as approved instructors to teach specific courses based on performance of the instructors while teaching classes monitored by MSHA. Operators shall indicate in the training plans submitted for approval whether they want to have instructors approved on monitored performance. The District Manager shall consider such factors as the size of the mine, the number of employees, the mine safety record and remoteness from a training facility when determining whether instructor approval based on monitored performance.
Part 46 Training
Part 46 training will be provided by the Mine Section in conjunction with our Part 48 training plan. We have worked cooperatively with MSHA to develop the following crosswalk to teach Part 46 & 48 classes together.
An operator will be responsible for assuring their Part 46 Training Plan mirrors the State of Montana MSHA Part 48 training plan (subjects and times). the operator is also responsible to update their plan to reflect our Staff as a competent person for either annual refresher and/or new miner training.
We will provide 20 of the 24 hours of New Miner training and 7.5 or the 8 hours of Annual Refresher Training at our centralized training locations. The operator's competent person will be required to complete the remaining hours and mandatory mine site subjects. Once completed, the person dedicated by the mine operator that is in charge of safety & health will sign the certificates as completed.
Part 46 was designed to be done by the operator. For assistance implementing your own Part 46 training see the list of resources below: State of Montana Part 48 Surface Training Plan, Crosswalk of Part 46 through Part 48 Training, training calendar link, MSHA Part 46 to Part 48 guidance- http://www.msha.gov/TRAINING/PART46/pt46pt48.htm#.VG4LIAqnNCQ.mailto
- From MSHA - details on how to set up your own Part 46 training: msha.gov/training/part46/pt46train.htm
- For the latest Mine Training Schedule e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org or email@example.com
- A limited number of Part 46 classes will be held at SafetyFest: check the website for upcoming trainings: www.safetyfestmt.com
We have shifted our resources to centralized training to reduce our training costs. We no longer offer onsite training. We apologize for the inconvenience and offer the following list of additional MSHA Onsite Contract Trainers. Please contact them directly for cost and availability. We do not endorse any of the following trainers.
MSHA Onsite Contract Training Resources
|Beartooth Safety Training & Consultation (Billings)
|Mine Training by Schwarzkoph (Forsyth)
|Safety & Health Services (Butte)
|TLC Safety (Butte)
|Dave Armstrong (Kalispell)
|Norvell Enterprises Inc. (Kalispell)
The Montana Safety and Health Bureau's Mine Section is no longer offering the Surface or Underground Foreman Exam. Those interested in obtaining this designation must contact Peter Saint in the MSHA Denver Office at (303) 231-5458.
The Montana Safety and Health Bureau Mine Section, under Montana Public Law 50-73-101 MCA (The Montana Coal Mine Safety Act), is responsible for workplace safety and health compliance in coal mines and sand and gravel operations.
How we can help:
- Assist mine operators in mine safety training plan development
- Partner with contractors to ensure Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA) Compliance
- Work with multiple county, state and federal agencies to assist in accident investigations and safety
Available for any type of mine in Montana, limited travel at this time.
The Montana Safety and Health Bureau, Mine Section