Montana's Minimum Wage

Current Minimum Wage:  $9.20 

 

2023 Minimum Wage (Effective 1/1/23): $9.95

The minimum wage is subject to a cost-of-living adjustment based on the Consumer Price Index no later than September 30th of each year. Montana's minimum wage is to be the greater of the federal or current Montana minimum wage.

Exception: A business not covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act whose gross annual sales are $110,000 or less may pay $4.00 per hour. However, if an individual employee is producing or moving goods between states or otherwise covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act, that employee must be paid the greater of either the federal minimum wage or Montana’s minimum wage.

No tip credit, meal credit, or training wage is allowed under Montana's Wage & Hour Laws.

Download the 2022 Montana Wage & Hour Poster

Download the 2022 Montana Wage & Hour Poster in Spanish

Download the 2023 Montana Wage & Hour Poster

Download the 2023 Montana Wage & Hour Poster in Spanish

The Department of Labor and Industry calculates the cost-of-living adjustment based on the increase in the Consumer Price Index (CPI), if any, from August of the preceding year to August of the year in which the calculation is made.  If there is no increase in the CPI, no adjustment is made.  If there is an increase, DLI will round the amount to the nearest five cents.
 
The Montana Wage & Hour Poster is an optional posting recommended for employers to display alongside required labor postings.  To obtain information on required postings, CLICK HERE.

2022 Montana Minimum Wage Determination Letter

2023 Montana Minimum Wage Determination Letter

Minimum Wage History

Wage and Hour Frequently Asked Questions

Back To Top