Occupational Safety and Health

Public Sector Compliance

The Montana Safety Act and the Montana Occupational Health Act require safety and health inspections of workplaces of public employers, such as cities, counties, schools, etc. There are approximately 43,902 single public entities to be inspected statewide under this mandatory inspection program. The safety inspection team at the Montana Department of Labor & Industry currently conducts 200-250 inspections per year. Please call 406-444-6401 for details.

OSHA Consultation Program

The Montana Department of Labor & Industry can provide employers with confidential and comprehensive safety consultations free of charge. Consultations are limited to employers with less than 250 employees. Employers in high hazard industries are given priority. Please call 406-494-0324 for details.

OSHA Reporting Requirements

All private sector employers must report all work-related fatalities within 8 hours to OSHA. Additionally, these employers will be required to contact OSHA within 24-hours for all work-related injuries that require inpatient hospitalizations, amputations, or loss of an eye.


Back To Top