Montana Consultation Program:
The Consultation Program provides on-site consultation services to both public and private sector: including small companies, city, county, and state entities. To request a consultation, call 406-494-0324 or via email at Free Safety Consultation Request.
Public Sector Compliance Emphasis Beginning October 1, 2016
The Compliance Unit will be enforcing the following two elements of the Montana Safety Culture Act as serious Violations:
- 39-71-1505 (ii) Job or task specific training; and
- 39-71-1505 (iii) b Periodic hazard assessment, with corrective actions identified
SafetyFestMT provides free quality safety training to Montana's employers and their employees. The event is held four times a year throughout the State. To see when SafetyFest will be held in or near your community visit the SafetyFestMT website.
The Safety Culture Act enacted by the 1993 Montana State Legislature encourages workers and employers to come together to create and implement a workplace safety philosophy... Read More
Consultation services are available for any type of mine in Montana. The Safety Bureau will provide the following services at the employer's request... Read More
The Montana Safety Act and the Montana Occupational Health Act require safety and health inspections of workplaces of public employers , eg. cities, counties, schools, etc... Read More
The first SafetyFestMT was held in Helena in March of 2010. It was a huge success. Hundreds of Montana workers from a variety of industries attended. They raved about the classes, speakers and quality of information... Read More
Chapter 71. Occupational Safety and Health... Read More
The Montana Safety and Health Bureau offers free on-site safety training. Before training begins, we require a walkthrough to observe your work environment. This helps us customize the training to meet your specific needs... Read More
Report all on-the-job injuries or occupational diseases to your supervisor, insurer or employer as soon as possible. You must give notice within 30 days after the occurrence of the accident... Read More
The Employment Relations Division of the Department of Labor and Industry released this bulletin effective March 2003...
Employers must provide workers' compensation insurance defined in the Montana Workers' Compensation and Occupational Disease Acts. Insurance may be purchased from insurers that are authorized...
Organizations desiring to be certified as managed care organizations are required to submit an application and pay a fee of $1,500. Once certified, the MCO can contract with insurers to receive their referrals... Read More
A Professional Employer Organization (PEO) is a business that leases employees to other businesses. A PEO manages the paperwork responsibilities associated with having employees... Read More
Minimize avoidable disruption caused by work-related injury or occupational disease and assist the injured worker to return as soon as possible to... Read More
The department manages the Subsequent Injury Fund, a program designed to assist individuals with disabilities obtain employment... Read More